It’s Monday, and I’m not freaking out.

Hi, everybody! It’s Monday and I’m exhausted. If I was not this tired, I’d probably be freaking out about all the homework I have to do… Has it ever happen to you that you know you need to get things done but your level of motivation is dangerously close to 0%? This is how I’m feeling right now. After a fun and busy weekend in Merritt Island celebrating bae’s birthday: walking along the beach, eating junk food and playing volleyball (he did while I watched) until way too late, I am ready to be back home and take a nap. Celebrating him is always great, not sleeping enough not so much (worth it though). Ever since we started dating, he has lovingly flooded me with book recommendations (he loves to read which is fitting since he is starting med school this summer and his life will be reading). I appreciate the gesture as well as other people’s suggestions, but I just don’t have the time to read all of the books I’d like to. Anyway, last week our English Professor told us we could pick any book we wanted to read for our book review and this is the one I picked:

boundaries

“When parents teach children that setting boundaries or saying no is bad, they are teaching them that others can do with them as they wish.” Henry Cloud and John Townsend  p. 24.

The book “Boundaries” by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend was intimidated at first. I was reluctant to read it for many reasons. It sounded like a self-help book which made me react defensively, “I’m not helpless. I can say no if I want to.” It also seemed selfish to set boundaries and do what I wanted instead of helping someone else or doing what needs to be doing. Though the quote might make it seem like a parenting book, it’s not. Now that I am on page 49 out of 302 pages, I feel like this book is very useful to anyone who wishes to be respected and respectful. I see it more as a psychology book that can help you not be pushed around more than just feel better. The fact that it’s based on scriptures in the Bible that are not misused helps me lower my guard and listed to these people. I’m really looking forward to finishing it and sharing what I have learned!

358 words

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, and I’m not freaking out.

  1. Setting Boundaries for young children is vital for creating discipline. It also creates self discipline because learning to say no and knowing when to say know can keep kids from getting into trouble in the future. So I suppose for some one who struggles to say no and to draw boundaries, this may be a very beneficial book for them. I’m currently reading a self help book as well and I think that books like these really can open peoples minds to new mindsets and new ways of living. I enjoyed your post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

