It’s Monday, and I’m not freaking out.

Hello, everybody! It’s Monday again… yay. Last week was nice though, so I am not freaking out… for real this time. For Valentine’s Day, bae took me out to swing dance, and it was a lot fun! He also got me flowers and CHOCOLATE, which I can say with no shame that I had the chocolate as breakfast and lunch for a couple of days. Anyway, now I’ll tell you about food for the mind.

If you have read my previous posts, you will probably think this is super predictable. I have a couple things to say to you:

  1. I am sorry! I had to.
  2. There is something… unpredictable about predictability, don’t you think?

71x7lgh1nrl

 

In order to have some closure, I decided to read Suzanne Collins’ “Mockingjay.” This one is my least favorite book in the entire series, but after the cliffhanger in “Catching Fire,” I just HAD to. I know it will make me upset. I know it will make me have a tiny existential crisis. However, there is a chance I might change my mind and not find it so shocking considering it has been years since I first read it, and it will be in a different language. So, I’m crossing my fingers, and this far – 59 pages in – I have not been disappointed.

I told you we should have rescued the boy first.  President Coin, p. 11.

 

51uozmwrqul-_sx331_bo1204203200_

On another note, I set as a goal for this year to read something spiritual every day. This far it has being going really well. Yay! I am almost done with the book “Back on Track: A 40-Day Journey to Spiritual Renewal” by Jimmy Allen. Today was day 39, and I can wholeheartedly say that this book has been a wonderful investment and has challenged my perspective in many areas, such as fulfilling promises to God, trustworthiness, and praying with faith. Once I am done with this book, I might pick back up “The Screwtape Letters” by C.S. Lewis though I don’t think I’d read it every day. I am planning on starting a chronological New Testament reading plan, and I am really excited. Since I have previously only read the New Testament in Spanish, reading it in English feels as if I am reading it for the first time, which is really special.

 Sometimes I think I am radical because I compare myself to the religious people around me. God’s standard is not that. Jimmy Allen, p. 38.

 

375 words

 

Leave a Reply

