It’s Monday, and I’m not freaking out.

I don’t think anyone’s favorite day is Monday. Seriously, if anyone has figured out a way to be positive about the end of the weekend, let me know.

It’s sad to think about the freedom and flexibility of the weekend being over so quickly. It has become especially sad this semester since every Sunday has been darkened by weekly due dates for different subjects. In the midst of homework, quizzes and exams, it is not uncommon to experience a few breakdowns. Anyway, today I’m writing about one of the least unpleasant assignments college offers!

What I’m reading for school:

93ea7d5dc9aabddd2b023283c6e020b9

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I can’t fight the sun. I can only watch helplessly as it drags me into a day that I’ve been dreading for months. Katniss Everdeen, p. 3.

(Don’t you appreciate how Katniss feels the same way about this day as we all do about Mondays?)

I decided to re-read this book because I just love Peeta! This is my favorite book of the Hunger Games series, so I thought, “why not!?” I know some people like Gale the most, but in all honesty, I like this book the best is because of the interaction between Katniss and Peeta. Come on, people! I mean Gale is cool and a loyal friend to Katniss, but Peeta has unconditionally loved her since she was five! So cute! Anyway, I am still on page 35 out of 216 pages. This far I have not been disappointed. Collins doesn’t fail to develop characters thoroughly and make us love or deeply dislike each one of them. I am really looking forward to seeing more action though.

What I’m reading for myself:

51uozmwrqul-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Back on Track: A 40-Day Journey to Spiritual Renewal by Jimmy Allen

Halfheartedness doesn’t work in male-female relationships, athletic competition, academia or anything really. It certainly won’t cut it with God. Jimmy Allen, p. 66.

I started reading this a little over a month ago and I try to read it every day. For those of you who are looking for a deeper, more sincere relationship with God, this is a great read! It has really changed the way I see myself. In just 102 out of 169 pages, I have learned about joy, consistency, prayer and much more.

 

328 words

Leave a Reply

